Executive Committee

ACM-W Europe is led by the Executive Committee that oversees Working Groups of volunteers and set the direction and strategy to drive awareness, increase skills, and promote initiatives among women in computing. Executive Committee members are experienced professionals with extensive experience in leading commercial and public sector organizations, managing teams, growing talent, and promotion and fund-raising activities. 


Ruth G. Lennon
Ruth G. Lennon is a Lecturer in the Department of Computing in Letterkenny Institute of Technology, Ireland. Ruth’s research interests focus on enterprise scale systems. She has been a member of many technical panels and committees. She is a member of ACM, ACM-W, IEEE, IEEE-WIE and the IEEE Computer Society. She is a member of the working group developing the P2675 DevOps standard. Ruth is the ACM-W Europe Scholarship Chair for 2016 and 2017.

Communications and Outreach

Cigdem Sengul
Cigdem Sengul is a Senior Lecturer in the Department of Computer Science at Brunel University.  Her research expertise is on network protocols, spanning a wide range of areas in wireless networks and data protection in the Internet of Things. Before joining Nominet, Cigdem worked and led projects in various R&D groups in the USA and Europe, including Nominet UK,  Oxford Brookes University, Telekom Innovation Labs/ TUB (Technische Universitaet Berlin), and INRIA Saclay. Cigdem was a Fulbright, UIUC and Vodafone scholar. She is a passionate advocate of increasing diversity awareness in computing.

Olja Rastic-Dalborough
Olja Rastic-Dulborough is a multidisciplinary software engineer in the IBM MQ developer experience team in Hursley, UK. She works on making the 25 year old enterprise messaging software that is developed by her team members, more approachable to new users.
Olja organised several IBM Women in Technology Day events that encourage female students to take up a career in technology. In her previous career, Olja worked as a freight forwarder, then completed a four year integrated undergraduate and MSc degree in computing at the University of Southampton.

Chiara Petrioli
Chiara Petrioli is Professor of Computer Science and Director of the Sensor Networks and Embedded Systems laboratory (SENSES lab) in the Department of Computer Science of the University of Rome “La Sapienza.” She is a founding partner of “La Sapienza” spinoff WSENSE, a fast growing high-tech company with offices in Italy, Norway, and UK. She has been a member of the Academic Senate and Chair of the PhD program in Computer Science at La Sapienza.
Chiara’s research interests concern the design and optimization of future wireless, embedded, IoT and cyber physical systems. She has been a member of Steering Committees and Associate Editor of several premium journals and a program co-chair of leading conferences in the field. Most recently, Chiara served as Chair of the Steering committee of IEEE SECON and General Chair of ACM MobiHoc 2019.
Chiara has published over a hundred and fifty papers in prominent international journals and conferences, She has been the PI of over twenty national and international research projects and served as a coordinator of four EC projects. Her research has resulted in international patents and in award-winning innovative technologies.
Chiara is a pioneer of the Internet of Underwater Things, an area on which she has led the development of breakthrough technologies listed in the NT100 Top “Social Global Techs changing our lives 2016.” She was a Fulbright scholar and in 2018 recognized as one of the Inspiring 50 top women in technology.
Chiara is currently serving as an elected member of the ACM Europe Council.

Maria-Ribera Sancho
Maria is a tenured professor at the Department of Service and Information System Engineering at Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (UPC), Barcelona. She has been active in the Software Engineering field for over 25 years.
Maria served as Dean of the Barcelona School of Informatics at UPC (2004-2010) and as Vice-dean, Head of Studies in the same school (1998-2004). She is currently Manager of the Education and Training department at Barcelona Supercomputing Center.
Maria’s main research areas are learning analytics, ontologies and information modelling. She is a member of the Information Modelling and Processing research group of the UPC and Associate Director of the innovation lab inLab https://inlab.fib.upc.edu/. She has published extensively and led many projects supported by industry and funding institutions.
Maria has served the professional community in many roles. She is Chair of the Accreditation Board of EQANIE, Spanish representative at the IFIP TC8 (Information Systems). She has been Dean Country Ambassador at Deans ‘European Academia Network-DEAN (2006-2010) and President of the Spanish Council of Deans and Directors of Informatics (2006-2010), where she remains an Honorary member to date.
In Spain, Maria works as a member of the committee for the Barcelona Strategic Plan, a member of the PLANETIC platform (Spanish NESSI affiliated platform) and a Board member of SISTEDES (Spanish Society for Software Engineering and Development). She is also an active member of SNOLA (Spanish Network of Learning Analytics) and SoLAR (Society for learning analytics research).

Past Chair

Natasa Milic-Frayling
Natasa Milic-Frayling is Professor and Chair of Data Science at the University of Nottingham’s School of Computer Science since 2015. Prior to that, she was a Principal Researcher at Microsoft Research, UK and a Visiting Professor at Queen Mary University of London and University College London. Natasa leads research in designing, prototyping and evaluating information management and communication systems. During her tenure at MSR, Natasa served as a Director of Research Partnership, promoting collaboration with innovation partners on strategic challenges in ICT, including long-term access to digital content (PLANETS and SCAPE EU projects). In 2016, Natasa founded Intact Digital Ltd, a company that provides managed services for hosting legacy software and data to ensure digital continuity of valuable digital assets. Currently, she is serving as Chair of the UNESCO Technology Taskforce for the PERSIST initiative, working on technical and economic solutions to preserve computation and digital heritage. Natasa holds a Doctorate degree in Applied Mathematics from Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA, USA.