ACM-W Europe November 2017 Newsletter

Calling Young Researchers to Join HLF 2018!

Apply Now

The Sixth Heidelberg Laureate Forum (HLF) will take place 23-28 September 2018 at the Heidelberg University, Heidelberg, Germany. Young researchers can apply or be nominated to attend the forum. Top 200 researchers will be selected to attend.

Apply now to join the best 200 young researchers for HLF 2018!

Learn about the HLF from blogs of two HLF 2017 attendees Deniz Kecik  and Zaineb Chelly Dagdia

Women Techmakers Scholars Program (former Google Anita Borg Memorial Scholarship): Europe, Middle East and Africa

(Former Google Anita Borg Memorial Scholarship Program)

·Scholarship for female Bachelor’s, Master’s and PhD students studying Computer Science or closely related technical fields

·  Scholarship recipients will take part in a retreat at a Google office in 2018 and have an opportunity to join Google’s global community of scholars

·  Apply by 11 December 2017 at

“Students can join us for a livestream event on 13th November 2017 between 6:00 pm to 7:00 pm GMT to better understand the Scholarship by registering here. In this session, they’ll hear from two former Scholars awarded in 2015 (including a current Software Engineer at Google) about their journeys as a Scholarship recipient, get tips on how to submit a strong application and have the chance to ask us questions.”

Past years recipients:

Contact for any questions about the Women Techmakers Scholars Program.

Google Europe Scholarship for Students with Disabilities

·  Scholarship for Bachelor’s, Master’s or PhD students with disabilities, studying Computer Science or a closely related technical field

·  Apply by 1 December 2017 at

Reach out to in case of any questions about the Students with Disabilities Scholarship.

ACM Celebrations of Women in Computing

Below is the list of European Celebrations as listed on the ACM-W Celebrations website.

Ada Lovelace Celebration November 17-18, 2017 Uppsala Sweden

LYIT-CWIC February 8-10, 2018 Ireland

RusCWIC March 1-3, 2018 Perm, Russia

ACWIC March 3, 2018 Ankara, Turkey

POLANDCWIC March 9-10,2018 Wroclaw, Poland

(to be confirmed)

ACM-W UK Inspire March 2018 Cambridge, UK

Ada’s Legacy April 2018 Baku, Azerbaijan

ENTER April 2018 Belgrade, Serbia

IPT Spring 2018 Madrid, Spain

WeEdR Spring 2018 Limassol, Spain

Wendy Powley, ACM-W Celebrations Chair is inviting all past and potential Celebrations Coordinators to register using registration form if they are planning a celebration between July 1, 2017, and June 30, 2018. And please keep in mind that funding is not guaranteed if the event is not registered by July 31st, 2017.

If you are planning a new celebration before 30 June 2018 please register using registration form and contact Wendy Powley, ACM-W Celebrations Chair to inquire about potential funding. Only celebrations registered by 31 July 2017 are guaranteed funding by ACM-W. For Celebrations in 2018-19, registration and funding applications are due by 31 July 2018.

All Celebrations are expected to join Celebrations Facebook page

Contact Wendy Powley ( for any inquiries about Celebration support and funding.

ACM Award and Advanced Grades of Membership Deadlines

Celebrating Accomplishments of ACM Women in Europe

Each year ACM recognizes outstanding achievements of its members through awards that cover a spectrum of professional and technological areas and different stages of professional development.

Following the mission of ACM-W to foster women participation in the field of computing, ACM-W Europe invites the community to welcome and recognize accomplishments of ACM Women in Europe who made significant contributions through their technical and professional excellence.

Advanced Grades of Membership Deadlines:

ACM Fellow – 7 September 2018

Distinguished Members – 1 August 2018

Senior Members – 3 December 2017

Nominations are due 15 January 2018 for the following ACM awards:

A.M. Turing Award –major contributions of lasting importance to computing

ACM Prize in Computing –   (previously ACM-Infosys Foundation Award):   early to mid-career fundamental innovative contribution in computing that, through its depth, impact and broad implications, exemplifies the greatest achievements in the discipline.

Distinguished Service Award –  service contributions to the computing community at large

Grace Murray Hopper Award – outstanding young computer professional, based on a single recent major technical or service contribution

Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award – theoretical accomplishments that have had significant impact on practice

Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award –  advancing new teaching methodologies, curriculum development in computing, or significant contributions to ACM’s educational mission

Eugene L. Lawler Award for Humanitarian Contributions within Computer Science and Informatics –  recognizes an individual or group who has made a significant contribution through the use of computing technology. The presentation of this award alternates with the ACM Policy Award

ACM – AAAI Allen Newell Award – career contributions with breadth or that bridge computer science and other disciplines

Outstanding Contribution to ACM Award –  outstanding contributions to ACM, in both value and degree

Software System Award – developing a software system that has had a lasting influence

ACM Athena Lecturer Award – celebrates women researchers who have made fundamental contributions to Computer Science;   please note:  nominations for the Athena Lecturer Award are now open to all (prior to 2016 only SIG Leaders could submit nominations)

Please refer to the ACM Awards website at  for:

  • nomination process (“How to Nominate” and the online nomination form), members of the 2017 Award Committees
  • listing of past award recipients and their citations.

For SIG-specific Awards, please visit

Thank you for joining us in recognizing accomplishments of ACM Women in Europe and ensuring they are nominated for ACM Awards they deserve.

ACM-W Europe Website

ACM-W Europe Blog

ACM-W Europe Facebook