ACM-W Europe Newsletter January 2019

 ACM-Celebration of Women in Computing: womENcourage 2019

Rome, Italy  September 16-18, 2019

Get all the details at the website

The CALL FOR PARTICIPATION gives you all the details on how you can participate and dates for submitting your work.  Join us for womENcourage 2019.

Join womENcourage organizing team and contribute to the running of the conference! Volunteers are welcome. Please contact

News Around the World

Ukrainian Celebration of Women in Computing

The third ACM Ukrainian Celebration of Women in Computing took place from December 1st to the 7th 2018 with various activities taking place during the week.  The Celebration began with a STEM Weekend for girls which included the Hour of Code and other coding and mentoring opportunities for the girls.

The WIC also included events later during the week: chat sessions (on-site as well as remote) with successful women in IT who shared their career and personal experiences thus motivating the participants.  Read more

Debate “Education, Research & Innovation: developing concrete synergies”

As an MSC Ambassador, the European Commission has recently invited Zaineb Chelly as a panellist at the Parlamentarium in Brussels for the debate “Education, Research & Innovation: Developing concrete synergies”. Zaineb was together with the co-panellists (1) Sophie Beernaerts, Head of unit MSCA, (2) Lieve Wierinck, Member of the European Parliament, (3) Rahul Bansal, Deputy Director of Education, European Institute of Innovation and Technology (EIT) Climate Knowledge and Innovation Community (KIC), (4) Janet Metcalfe, Head of Vitae, and (5) Gareth O’Neill, President EURODOC.

The event welcomed a number of young visitors, members of the European Parliament, members of the European Commission, and researchers funded by the Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions (MSCA). The audience was greeted by Mr. Dimitrios Papadimoulis, Vice-President of the European Parliament, the panel discussion was  opened by Mr. Tibor Navracsics, European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Youth and Sport, and the professional moderator Christophe Robeet facilitated the debate. Zaineb wrote a blog about the event here

ACM Celebrations of Women in Computing

The worldwide list of Women in Computing events can be found  at:

To keep up to date on celebrations join  Celebrations Facebook page.

Contact Wendy Powley ( if you have further questions.

ACM Awards and Advanced Grades of Membership Deadlines

Celebrating Accomplishments of ACM Women in Europe

Each year ACM recognizes outstanding achievements of its members through awards that cover a spectrum of professional and technological areas and different stages of professional development.

Following the mission of ACM-W to foster women participation in the field of computing, ACM-W Europe invites the community to welcome and recognize accomplishments of ACM Women in Europe who made significant contributions through their technical and professional excellence.

Advanced Grades of Membership Deadlines:

ACM Fellow –  7 September 2019

Distinguished Members – 1 August 2019

Senior Members – 3 March 2019

Nominations are due 15 January 2019 for the following ACM awards:

A.M. Turing Award –major contributions of lasting importance to computing

ACM Prize in Computing –   (previously ACM-Infosys Foundation Award):   early to mid-career fundamental innovative contribution in computing that, through its depth, impact and broad implications, exemplifies the greatest achievements in the discipline.

Distinguished Service Award –  service contributions to the computing community at large

Grace Murray Hopper Award – outstanding young computer professional, based on a single recent major technical or service contribution

Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award – theoretical accomplishments that have had significant impact on practice

Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award –  advancing new teaching methodologies, curriculum development in computing, or significant contributions to ACM’s educational mission

Eugene L. Lawler Award for Humanitarian Contributions within Computer Science and Informatics recognizes an individual or group who has made a significant contribution through the use of computing technology. The presentation of this award alternates with the ACM Policy Award

ACM – AAAI Allen Newell Award – career contributions with breadth or that bridge computer science and other disciplines

Outstanding Contribution to ACM Award –  outstanding contributions to ACM, in both value and degree

Software System Award – developing a software system that has had a lasting influence

ACM Athena Lecturer Award – celebrates women researchers who have made fundamental contributions to Computer Science;   please note:  nominations for the Athena Lecturer Award are now open to all (prior to 2016 only SIG Leaders could submit nominations)

Please refer to the ACM Awards website at  for:

  • nomination process (“How to Nominate” and the online nomination form), members of the 2018 Award Committees
  • listing of past award recipients and their citations.

For SIG-specific Awards, please visit

Thank you for joining us in recognizing accomplishments of ACM Women in Europe and ensuring they are nominated for ACM Awards they deserve.  

ACM-W Europe Website

ACM-W Europe Blog

ACM-W Europe Facebook