ACM-W Europe May Newsletter

womENcourage 2018 – October 3-5, 2018

Workshop/Tutorial Submission Deadline: June 15, 2018

Participation Scholarships Submission Deadline: June 15, 2018

WomENcourage brings together women in the computing profession and related technical fields to exchange knowledge and experience and provide special support for women who are pursuing their academic degrees and starting their careers in computing.

Join womENcourage organizing team and contribute to the running of the conference! Volunteers are welcome. Please contact

Around the World

Gender Gap in Science

The 2018 Global Survey of Mathematical, Computing, and Natural Scientists has been launched on May 1st, 2018 and will be opened for answers until October 31st, 2018.

Click to complete the 2018 Global Survey of Mathematical, Computing, and Natural Scientists

You are welcome to forward this link to the survey to your colleagues, men and women. Invitation letters to participate in the survey are available here in English, French, Chinese, Japanese, Russian, Spanish, and Arabic.

Minerva Informatics Equality Award

Deadline is June 1, 2018

The “Minerva Informatics Equality Award” was launched in 2016 by the Women in Informatics Research and Education (WIRE) working group of Informatics Europe (IE). It is devoted to initiatives that encourage and support the careers of women in Informatics research and education. The Award recognizes best practices in Departments or Faculties of European Universities or Research Institutes and Labs that have been demonstrated to have a positive impact for women. It has a three-year cycle with emphasis on a different career stage in each year:

1. developing the careers of female faculty, including retention and promotion;

2. supporting the transition of female PhD and postdoctoral researchers into faculty positions;

3. encouraging female students to enrol in Computer Science/Informatics programmes and retaining them.

The focus for the 2018 Award is “Recruiting and Supporting Female Students”.

The Award seeks to celebrate successful initiatives that have had a measurable impact on the recruitment and support of female students within the nominated Institution. Such initiatives can serve as exemplars of best practices within the community, with the potential to be widely adopted by other Institutions.

Find out more here!

ACM Celebrations of Women in Computing

All Celebrations are expected to join Celebrations Facebook page

Contact Wendy Powley ( for any inquiries about Celebration support and funding.

ACM Awards and Advanced Grades of Membership Deadlines

Celebrating Accomplishments of ACM Women in Europe

Each year ACM recognizes outstanding achievements of its members through awards that cover a spectrum of professional and technological areas and different stages of professional development.

Following the mission of ACM-W to foster women participation in the field of computing, ACM-W Europe invites the community to welcome and recognize accomplishments of ACM Women in Europe who made significant contributions through their technical and professional excellence.

Advanced Grades of Membership Deadlines:

ACM Fellow – 7 September 2018

Distinguished Members – 1 August 2018

Senior Members – 3 June 2018

Nominations are due 15 January 2019 for the following ACM Awards:

A.M. Turing Award –major contributions of lasting importance to computing

ACM Prize in Computing –   (previously ACM-Infosys Foundation Award):   early to mid-career fundamental innovative contribution in computing that, through its depth, impact and broad implications, exemplifies the greatest achievements in the discipline.

Distinguished Service Award –  service contributions to the computing community at large

Grace Murray Hopper Award – outstanding young computer professional, based on a single recent major technical or service contribution

Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award – theoretical accomplishments that have had a significant impact on practice

Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award –  advancing new teaching methodologies, curriculum development in computing, or significant contributions to ACM’s educational mission

Eugene L. Lawler Award for Humanitarian Contributions within Computer Science and Informatics –  recognizes an individual or group who has made a significant contribution through the use of computing technology. The presentation of this award alternates with the ACM Policy Award

ACM – AAAI Allen Newell Award – career contributions with the breadth or that bridge computer science and other disciplines

Outstanding Contribution to ACM Award –  outstanding contributions to ACM, in both value and degree

Software System Award – developing a software system that has had a lasting influence

ACM Athena Lecturer Award – celebrates women researchers who have made fundamental contributions to Computer Science;   please note:  nominations for the Athena Lecturer Award are now open to all (prior to 2016 only SIG Leaders could submit nominations)

Please refer to the ACM Awards website at  for:

  • nomination process (“How to Nominate” and the online nomination form), members of the 2017 Award Committees
  • listing of past award recipients and their citations.

For SIG-specific Awards, please visit

Thank you for joining us in recognizing accomplishments of ACM Women in Europe and ensuring they are nominated for ACM Awards they deserve.

ACM-W Europe Website

ACM-W Europe Blog

ACM-W Europe Facebook